The Presidencies of British India: Bengal, Bombay and Madras

See also:presidencymap1858

The administration of British India was divided into three Presidencies: Bengal, Bombay and Madras. These had developed from the East India Company’s* factory bases and existed, in various forms, between 1612 and 1947, conventionally divided into three historical periods:

  • During 1612–1757, the East India Company set up “factories” (trading posts) in several locations, mostly in coastal India, with the consent of the Moghul emperors or local rulers. Its rivals were the merchant trading companies of Holland and France. By the mid-18th century, three “Presidency towns”: Madras, Bombay, and Calcutta had grown in size.
  • During the period of Company rule in India, 1757–1858, the Company gradually acquired sovereignty over large parts of India, now called “Presidencies.” However, it also increasingly came under British government oversight, in effect sharing sovereignty with the Crown. At the same time it gradually lost its mercantile privileges.
  • Following the Indian Rebellion of 1857, the Company’s remaining powers were transferred to the Crown. In the new British Raj (1858–1947), sovereignty extended to a few new regions, such as Upper Burma. Increasingly, however, unwieldy presidencies were broken up into “Provinces”. (Source: Presidencies and provinces of British India)
Map of Presidencies in British India. Picture from:

Map of Presidencies in British India. Picture from:

See: FIBIS and Presidencies and provinces of British India for more information on Presidencies.

*The East India Company (EIC) was also known as the Honourable East India Company (HEIC) and ‘John Company’. It was a joint-stock company that was granted an English Royal Charter on December 31, 1600 by Elizabeth I. The British East India Company started out as a commercial trading venture, but grew in strength and eventually virtually ruled India until the Indian Mutiny in 1857. Source: FIBIS

Cover Picture Credit: Wiki

AIP_with web address2

 Facebook | | Twitter | YouTube

17 thoughts on “The Presidencies of British India: Bengal, Bombay and Madras

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s