Day 22: Presidencies of British India

This post is part of the Anglo-Indian Project Holiday Season series 2017

The administration of British India was divided into three Presidencies: Bengal, Bombay and Madras. These had developed from the East India Company’s factory bases and existed, in various forms, between 1612 and 1947, conventionally divided into three historical periods.


Map of Presidencies in British India. Picture from: FIBIS

  1. During the 17th century the East India Company set up factories. By the mid-18th century three Presidency towns had grown in size: Madras, Bombay and Calcutta.
  2. Between 1757–1858, the Company gradually acquired sovereignty over large parts of India, now called “Presidencies.”
  3. Following the Indian Rebellion of 1857, the Company’s remaining powers were transferred to the Crown. In the new British Raj (1858–1947), sovereignty extended to a few new regions, such as Upper Burma. Increasingly, however, unwieldy presidencies were broken up into “Provinces”. (Source: Presidencies and provinces of British India)

See also:presidencymap1858

Coming Soon: In Search of Ancestors in British India: Where to Start – Sign up here

If you are interested in being involved, finding out more, or just curious, we welcome your communication using our Get in Touch page or join our mailing list here.

Cover photo by Markus Spiske on


Facebook | Paper.liTwitter | YouTube

Join our mailing list here

5 thoughts on “Day 22: Presidencies of British India

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s