The Presidencies of British India: Bengal, Bombay and Madras #MondayMusings

Today the AIP #MondayMusings series takes us back to an early AIP post regarding the presidencies of British India. This has proved to be one of the most visited posts so far – perhaps because the topic appears on educational curricula around the world. Importantly, this provides important context to the organisation of British India between 1612 and 1947.

Monday Musings 2018

Photo by Mike Tinnion on Unsplash adapted by AIP

Coming Soon: In Search of Ancestors in British India: Where to Start – Sign up here

If you are interested in being involved, finding out more, or just curious, we welcome your communication using our Get in Touch page or join our mailing list here.

The administration of British India was divided into three Presidencies: Bengal, Bombay and Madras. These had developed from the East India Company’s* factory bases and existed, in various forms, between 1612 and 1947, conventionally divided into three historical periods: 1612–1757, 1757–1858 and 1858–1947. 


Map of Presidencies in British India. Picture from:

Read more about this post at: The Presidencies of British India: Bengal, Bombay and Madras

Cover Picture Credit: Wiki


Facebook | Paper.liTwitter | YouTube

Join our mailing list here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s